Rocsi Diaz Talks ’106 & Park’, Acting & Eddie Murphy With The New York Post

BET’s 106 and Park hosts Rocsi Diaz has completed seven years on the popular countdown show and now she is ready to embark on an exciting new journey in television and film. 


Over the past few years, she’s snagged four movie roles, including ‘The Last Letter’ alongside Lynn Whitfield, which prompted her decision to move to Los Angeles and take acting more seriously. 

Earlier this week, she sat down with The New York Post to chat about her successful gig at 106 and Park and revealed that Ludacris first influenced her to make the transition from radio to television.  She also chatted about having to transform from a sneaker wearing Tomboy to a girlie girl for the show, her post-show plans and meeting Barack Obama for the first time. While she was very open about what it was like to meet & interview Eddie Murphy for the first time, she brushed off rumors of dating the actor.
Peep a few excerpts

On how she got her start in the entertainment industry
I was a radio personality when I first started. I interned for a local television/radio station in New Orleans, Louisiana. That’s kind of how I got my feel docuing tapes, labeling them and going into the library. I started on-air in Dallas and worked my way from Dallas to Boston and Boston to Chicago. I was the Mid Day Mami.

On what inspired her to try out for 106 and Park
You know it’s really funny! A good friend of mine, his name is Ludacris, famous rapper turned actor now, he would always tell me, ‘Rosci you don’t have a face for radio’. When the opportunity came, BET was doing a national search as they’re doing now for the new host of 106 & Park, and he told me I should go do it. If it wasn’t for his inspiration, I probably would have never got in that line and thought that I could do it. He doesn’t even know that to this day. I’ve never been like ‘Thank you for giving me the courage.”

Comment

